Slacker.

16 Sep

Hello everyone!! HAPPY FRIDAY!! Hope it’s been fun, fun, fun, fun so far (or will be getting there by tonight ;) )

 

I have a confession: I have been a huge slacker in the exercise department over the last week. You may have noticed that the only activity I wrote about on the blog was a nice long walk through the arboretum… ON SUNDAY. That’s 5 days ago. That has been IT!

 

There has been just one major reason for this– my exam schedule.

 

 

I have BIG exams (like, midterm exams) every Monday and Wednesday for the next 3 weeks, and this does not include the small quizzes and big proficiencies and homework and lab write-ups. I estimate that I spend about 30-35 hours a week AT my school in lab or clinic or class, and then I probably fit in 15-25 extra hours practicing for proficiencies, STUDYING for exams and quizzes, and doing homework.

 

Let me just tell you, that after a 5 hour night of sleep, a 5am wakeup call to finish studying, and 8am exam, an 8 hour (or more!) day at school afterwards, plus the need to study for the next thing…

… I DO NOT WANT TO WORK OUT.

I know, I know– I should, it will make me feel better, I will get more energy… I know all of the benefits. But just to spend an extra hour and a half (that I feel like I don’t have!) to change, exercise, and shower… it just feels really daunting at the end of the day.

However, for my mental and physical health, I really want to try to do a better job about getting in more movement. I’m not going to be too hard on myself for not getting a workout in every day– or even every other day when I’m in test mode– so what I know I can do is this:

 

always makes me feel better :)

 

I can work out each day of the weekend, plus most Friday evenings. If I can get just 3 long periods of movement in the week, even if they’re back-to-back, I will be less hard on myself and I’m sure I will feel better.

 

 

ANYWAY, on to some recent eats and outfits.

Eats:

black refried beans, goat cheese, sun dried tomatoes, salsa on ezekiel

.. topped with a big pile of ARUGULA!

iced coffee- fuel for my life.

rand-- pickles and popcorn for snack

build your own pizza on GLUTEN-FREE crust, toped with ricotta, olives, green peppers, artichoke hearts, tomato, basil, garlic and roasted red peppers.

 

^^ I’m about to have the other two pieces of this pizza for lunch today :)

 

Outfits:

Yesterday-

dressed for clinic. picked up the Hubs wearing this and he said I looked cute, but also like a middle-aged person (think it's the cardigan haha)

 

Today:

it was dark when I left this morning, sorry for the bad lighting!

 

I’ve got lots of school left today, plus a hopefully-crazy night out to celebrate my friend/classmate’s birthday :)

More to come later, plus probably some pictures of the shenanigans!

 

Question for you:

How do you fit exercise into your busy days?

 

8 Responses to “Slacker.”

  1. Shannon September 16, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    love your outfits!

    • eyegirleats September 16, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks girl! It’s fun posting them :)

  2. lapiattini September 16, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I make sure to pack a bag of gym clothes and throw it in the car or bring it into work with me. Seeing the bag makes me more motivated to go. Or I’ll make gym plans with a friend and even on the busiest day I won’t want to disappoint them and cancel so I’ll go. I always feel better after going!

    • eyegirleats September 16, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      I always feel better after too! Tonight my work-out will be dancing (though I’ll probably take in more calories than I burn haha!)

  3. megpinkgiggles September 17, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Even if I just go on a 10 minute walk or do some push ups or sit ups before bed, I always feel better than if I had done nothing at all :)

    • eyegirleats September 18, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

      So true! I should start doing some pre-bed lunges haha :)

  4. beautyinthebalance September 17, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    I love your cardigan (I don’t think it makes you look middle-aged)!

    Gosh your exam schedule sounds quite intense- I think it’s a good idea to take some time out at weekends to get some movement in. I like going for runs because it helps my brain to switch off and the fresh air does wonders! I hope that you get to find some time to relax a little too!!!

    • eyegirleats September 18, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

      Thanks lady! haha :)

      Ya school has been really challenging– and it’s only getting more intense! I’m trying to take that time and actually using it for exercise haha. More walks are in the future for me, at the very least!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

