Hiatus

24 Sep

Hi everyone! Hope you’ve had a wonderful week :)

It’s been a long time since I’ve updated.

The reason for this is I think my previous posting rate was a little too strenuous for me at this time in my life. I was getting really burnt out trying to juggle writing my blog, commenting on other blogs, and all the hours that have gone into keeping up this little thing up– with having to spend the hours I have working on school stuff.

Obviously, my priority is school– I love writing on here and being a part of this community, but getting good grades and getting in all the studying I need in order to do well is definitely more important to me in the long run. I just don’t have a schedule right now that’s conducive to very active blogging!

Also, I feel like the 2+ hours I was spending every day on blog stuff was taking time out of possible workouts. Instead of going out for a walk, I’d be busily writing up a post. Instead of going for a run, I was busy reading and commenting on a bazillion blogs.

And don’t worry, I’m still reading everyone’s blogs– I’ve just been lurking rather than commenting. :)

Meanwhile, I’ve decided to join my local 24/hr fitness– so that will be fun. Their fitness class schedule is awesome and includes spin, Zumba, and BODYPUMP (!!) which I’m totally excited for.

So now, I think I’m going to be investing a little more time into exercise every week, while occasionally updating my little bloggy with big events and fun stuff. I WILL try to comment more on my active reader’s blogs for sure.

 

ANYWHO! I’ve got a long weekend of studying ahead of me, but I did manage to bang out 3.5 miles this morning on a walk/run that was actually more run than walk today (yay!),

 

just to get myself a green juice and come back. I watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead yesterday on instant Netflix and it made me really NEED to get myself some fresh juice haha.

kale, spinach, carrot, pear, ginger, lime, spirulina :) like sweet/sour/spicy grass juice haha.

shweaty with a headband mark on the forehead. so seksi.

 

And because I just look so awful in the above photograph, let me show you what I looked like in clinic the other day, with a new shirt (!) and the new flats I wrote about in the Fashion post:

from Ann Taylor Loft. love the ruffles and the rosettes :)

shirt matches the shoes! these are just ok-- they kind of make my feet sweaty.

 

 

Ok, now I’ve redeemed myself from my sweaty picture haha.

 

Hope you have a good weekend! I’m just going to be glued to my notes until Wednesday.

 

Questions for you:

Is your schedule conducive to active blogging? How do you balance blogging with the other important commitments in your life?

12 Responses to “Hiatus”

  1. Min September 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Good for you for doing what’s right for you! Mental sanity is very important. Let me know how you like Bodypump! It’s the only thing that can get me out of bed at 5am. :)

    • eyegirleats September 24, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      Thanks Min, love you :) I’ll let you know, scheduled to check it out Wednesday night!

  2. lapiattini September 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Oh my gosh that shirt and matching shoes are too cute!!
    I feel ya on the blogging schedule. It gets really tough sometimes. I do the same as you and make sure I have my priorities in check. I love blogging, but work, fitness, and family take precedence!

    • eyegirleats September 25, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      thanks lady!! I was talking to the Hubs and he agreed– I may not have time for really active blogging right now, but maybe in a couple of years I will :) It’s all about priorities for sure!

  3. Alicia September 25, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Love love love Body Pump & ZUMBA!! :-D Enjoy it girlie! I hear ya on the blogging schedule, it’s HARD work time managing one’s priorites. I’m glad to hear all is well, I was wondering where you were there for a bit. But I totally feel ya, I’m juggling 3 grad classes right now and so reading and studying has me pretty tied up. I find myself wishing I could be blogging and reading up on blogs instead of studying…lol Way to keep up with the priorities that matter most! ;-)

    • eyegirleats September 25, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      I can’t wait to try it! 3 grad classes?? What are you studying?

      • Alicia September 26, 2011 at 10:42 am #

        I’m an education major, I figure I need to get some classes outta the way before the little one comes. Then I ease my way back into school!

  4. spinach&spice September 26, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    your hair looks beautiful! And I’m glad you’re back to the blogging world :) Though breaks are always necessary.. there is a life outside of our laptops though it’s hard to believe ;)

  5. thebeautynotebooks September 27, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Everyone needs a break once in a while, especially if you are in the middle of grad school! I hope you have a good break, and I hope to see you around here sometime! :) Enjoy seeing your husband whenever you can, too! <3

  6. Alissa @ Not Just Apples September 29, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Love the shoes! I think it’s really important to get a balance with posting – it should be fun, not grinding :)

  7. beautyinthebalance October 2, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I agree with the other comments above- if you’re not having fun posting then it’s good to take a break and come back to it later!
    You’ve got SO much going on at the moment I’m not surprised you’re finding it difficult to juggle it all! I’m pretty sure I would have given up weeks ago!
    I hope you find a balance that works for you! :) xo

  8. Vegetarian in the City November 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    love your top!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

