Cold-Brewed Iced Coffee (aka Heaven)

20 Aug

Over the summer months, I became semi-obsessed with iced coffee– but not just the regular, generic, Starbucks iced coffee (though who’m I kidding, I wouldn’t turn my nose up at some of that either). I’m talking about the cold-brewed stuff!

Instead of pouring scalding hot water over grounds and then cooling the results after, cold-brewing uses room-temperature water, and steeps the grounds overnight– resulting in a smoother, less bitter, and way mellower cup of joe. It is heavenly.

The recipe I used for the cold-brew method is in this link:

Here is my container with the grounds + water, leaving it overnight:

just let me steeeeeep

The end result was in my cup this morning 🙂

Few words of advice– since you really TASTE the coffee this way, invest in the good stuff! We’ve done several batches over the summer, and we could definitely tell the difference between really quality beans and the not-so-quality beans. Freshness and smell are super important too!

Also, if you’d like to taste the cold-brew before investing the time to DIY, the best massively-produced cold-brew iced coffee I’ve had is at the Nordstrom E-bar. NO JOKE. I’ve tried it at about a million independent places as well, and while good, the Nordstrom iced coffee is still a little better. It’s like coffee crack.

 

Question for you:

Do you drink the cold-brew??

5 Responses to “Cold-Brewed Iced Coffee (aka Heaven)”

  1. Ellie@fitforthesoul August 20, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Hii!! Omgshhh thank you for sharing this!! I have never thought of this, nor the “science” behind this method haha. It sounds like it’d make really good coffee. I don’t drink much iced coffee in the mornings, but now I’m really intrigued. 😀

    • eyegirleats August 20, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      You’re welcome! You should definitely try it out, it’s sooo good 🙂 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the Hubs is Jealous « eyegirleats - August 21, 2011

    […] I drank down some of my homemade iced coffee and made an omelette for my man. liquid […]

  2. Good Morning!! « eyegirleats - August 25, 2011

    […] celebrated my awesome night’s sleep with the usual cold-brewed iced coffee with almond milk: ooh-de-laly! (name that […]

  3. Bust. « eyegirleats - September 9, 2011

    […] fabulous cold-brewed iced coffee?? Left on the counter as usual, but the top was left askew– and when I tried to pour myself a […]

Leave a Reply

