Helluvaday

22 Aug

I found out at about 9am this morning that my scheduled 1hr dinner break between classes was going to be removed in favor of starting our last lecture early (and thus letting us all leave early).

This meant that during my lunch break (also 1 hour), I had to scramble not only to fully assemble and eat my lunch but to pack snacks and dinner to eat at school.

Luckily, the star of my mid-day meal came courtesy of the Whole Foods deli area:

could. not. resist.

That would be a sweet corn, poblano, and cheese tamale. It was muy delicioso, espesh when paired with some black beans and avocado.

all part of your complete lunch.

On the side was a mound of broccoli slaw topped with a dollop of kalamata olive + parsley hummus.

While I was plating up, a brainstorm of salad possibilities were running through my head. I basically pulled everything out of my fridge that could possibly go in a salad…

what shall I choose?

…and ended up incorporating nearly all of it into my dinner. The only thing that went back into the fridge unused was the nutritional yeast (and the hummus ended up in my lunch!)

I threw together halved Meatless Meatballs from TJ’s, a goat cheese medallion (also TJ’s.. sense a trend?), and sunflower seeds over broccoli slaw and baby spinach. Goddess dressing on the side 🙂

I then managed to package up a few snacks to tide me over before I literally ran out the door to class.

A small baggie of cashews, a deliciously ripe and juicy pluot, and baby carrots to go 🙂

In the end, I was so rush-rush busy at school, I only managed to plow through my snacks. The salad is currently being enjoyed while I blog 🙂

 

I’m finally done with my first day of school, after enduring 7 hours of lecture and lab for just ONE class, plus another two hours of lecture for another class. I feel like I’m in zombie mode right now, and it was all i could do to get home and change out of my clothes.

Howeverrrr–

This post by blogger Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point makes me feel like such a whiner for complaining about my day. I’m only juggling ONE major commitment right now (school– although long-distance relationship with the Hubs is another commitment that I enjoy taking time for), and there she is masterfully handling her career, helping with her husbands career, writing books, writing blogs, taking care of two doggies, making delicious dinners…

ANYWAY. It kind of makes me feel ashamed for my pity party 🙂

SO I pledge to be more positive about my situation.

Question for you:

What are you (easily or not so much) juggling right now?

3 Responses to “Helluvaday”

  1. CaitlinHTP August 22, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Naw! You shouldn’t feel bad. I have lots of stressed out days too 🙂 But you can flip your attitude, you’re totally right, and that will make it SO MUCH BETTER!

    • eyegirleats August 22, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      ya I really hope so 🙂 last year was a beast. It crushed all the positivity out of my lil’ soul, and now I gotta build it back up again! Thanks Caitlin 🙂

  2. beautyinthebalance August 23, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    You just endured 9 hours of lectures- that totally justifies a little pity party in my eyes! And an early night 🙂

Leave a Reply

