Frazzled.

23 Aug

I’ve been all over the place today.

Got home for lunch after just an hour of class, but I was still so full from my smoothie that I had to pack lunch to-go again.

lunch on the go!

That would be a super-delicious wrap of refried black beans, sun dried tomatoes, and a quarter of an avocado on top of a spelt tortilla.

…that I then topped with a generous sprinkle of nutritional yeast (I’m on such a kick lately!). I ate this during lecture about an hour in.

The rest of the packed lunch looked like this-

snackity snacks

The carrots + hummus went uneaten, though I munched the apple and about half the almonds during clinic time. It was 4 hours of review of refraction procedures, and they also taught us to use the new automated phoropter (the machine that the docs use to ask if 1 or 2 is more clear!). The technology was pretty cool, but since I’m so used to the old-school machines, it was hard to get the hang of.

I need to take more pictures of the cool optometric equipment I work with!

Anyway, I got out of clinic super-hungry, but I had a meet-n-greet pizza dinner to attend right afterwards. We were all assigned a mentee to help along for the year, so I handed off some notes, advice, and encouragement (as well as a care package of note cards and mechanical pencils!).

Since I was there for another hour and hungry, I took a piece of the (free) pizza everyone was having. It was from costco– big slices with lots of cheese, and if you want any veggies on there it comes with meat as well.

bleckh.

I picked off all the mushrooms, sausage, and pepperoni and got through it. Not my favorite!

Now I’m home, exhausted, and contemplating a big + hearty salad for dinner. I’ll catch up the rest tomorrow when I get a second!

 

Question for you:

Do you eat the free food offered at events?

 

3 Responses to “Frazzled.”

  1. beautyinthebalance August 24, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    The snacks you pack always look so appetising!
    It depends on what kind of event it is and what kind of food is being offered! That being said, I probably would have eaten the pizza because I just can’t resist the stuff!

    • eyegirleats August 24, 2011 at 10:11 am #

      I like to pack snacks that I know will really stick to my ribs– otherwise I get way too hungry!

      And I find pizza semi-irresistible myself 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Morning!! « eyegirleats - August 25, 2011

    […] night I basically ate the same refried bean burrito I’d made for lunch the other day- more appetizing than I […]

Leave a Reply

