Where My Hubs At

24 Aug

As some of you may have noticed, I talk a lot about how my Hubs is coming to ‘visit’, or how I have to pick up/ drop him off at the airport, etc etc.

You’ve probably correctly inferred that he doesn’t currently live with me.

My Hubs is an engineer by trade, and has had a job in the Seattle area for some years– before I even thought of applying to optometry school πŸ™‚

hot and nerdy! best combo everrr

When I was accepted to school in Southern California, we decided that he would look for a job down here before I started– and if he couldn’t find one right away, I would get set up and he’d move later.

at my white coat ceremony

Well, later never came. I think most people know how abysmal the job market is in California right now, especially in the southern part of the state. My poor hubby looked for months and months and months and nothing that was suitable to his level experience/expertise ever came up. He got burnt out and we both became frustrated and disappointed.

I managed to get through the whole school year with him commuting back and forth from Seattle, and it was a bittersweet arrangement. Although we miss each other terribly when he’s not here, I think all that time to myself helped me stay really focused on my school work (and resulted in pretty darn good grades!).

He visits frequently- about every other weekend-, so that helps a WHOLE lot. We also make sure to FaceTime, iChat, and of course text and call each other throughout the day. We definitely still make lots of time for each other, even though we’re not always physically together.

at the airport, on one of our many travels!

at the start of our first 5k together in Cali!

Anyway, for now the job search has been abandoned. In fact, in all the looking he managed to find a much better position at a new company that is still located in the Seattle area– and will now have more opportunities to work from home, plus the company has an office in a nearby city he can have a desk at as well. This will mean he can have longer weekends with me in Cali πŸ™‚

In the end, I’ve come to terms with our situation. I’ve only got 3 years left of school, and what is that in the space of a lifetime? A drop in the bucket πŸ™‚

happiness and love is foreva ❀

4 Responses to “Where My Hubs At”

  1. beautyinthebalance August 25, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Oh my gosh, girl! That must be SO hard on you both! I am glad to see that you’re both putting in a lot of effort though and you’re so positive about it which must make it easier!
    Only 3 years left… that’s hardly any time at all! You’ve got the rest of your lives together πŸ™‚

    • eyegirleats August 25, 2011 at 8:22 am #

      thanks girl! we do try to stay positive, and it really does help that he comes to visit so often!

  2. thebeautynotebooks September 16, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I know how hard long distance can be — my boyfriend is in the Coast Guard, and we are five hours apart from each other normally. (now it’s a lot more since I am studying abroad in Edinburgh, Scotland!) But being married and long distance is a whole step above, and I give you both so much credit! I am really happy he gets to visit you frequently!

    • eyegirleats September 16, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks, friend! I always say– you just make it work πŸ™‚

      So fun that you’re studying abroad! I visited Edinburgh earlier this summer and LOVED it! Such a cool city!

Leave a Reply

