Chia Obsession

26 Aug

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having a good morning πŸ™‚

Last night I stayed up past my bed-time on the phone with the Hubs, so I was definitely snoozing the alarm this morning.

My snacks and dessert last night looked a little like this:

this can only turn out really good.

Banana chocolate milkshake with chia seeds for dessert πŸ™‚

In the vitamix went one frozen banana, a big squeeze of organic Midnight Moo, and almond milk. Topped with chia-seedy goodness πŸ™‚

oh baby.

I later snacked on these while FaceTiming the Hubs:

Roasted+salted cashews and a Pink Lady apple that was candy-sweet and super-crisp!

 

This morning I dragged out of bed and into some workout gear to hit the road:

On the way out, I was absentmindedly checking twitter and accidentally locked myself out of the house.

Not a fun start.

So the first stop on my route was my school locker, where I have been keeping a spare ever since I paid the locksmith $200 to get me back into my condo the last time.

I picked up the spare key and then finished out a short 2-mile loop in about 25 minutes before getting my shweaty self home.

ya, but inside I am frowning.

It is HOT outside!

I was thirsty and starving so promptly made myself a ginorm smoothie bowl to quench both.

Into the mix went a frozen banana, a scoop of vanilla protein powder, a tablespoon of cocoa powder, lots of spinach, frozen organic raspberries, and almond milk.

Topped with CHIA (I’m obsessed. I want to put these seeds on EVERYTHING).

 

My running endurance has SERIOUSLY taken a hit over the summer break. My usual routes that were easy-peasy at the end of last year now feel SO hard. I walked about a bajillion miles all summer, but I really slacked on the running (partly due to a stress injury in my knee). I’m paying for it now– but one of the best things about running is that you can so quickly see improvement.

It’s just motivating me to keep going and building myself back up πŸ™‚

 

Anyway, off to get ready for class! Later, I’m heading home to my parent’s house in San Diego for a few nights this weekend, leaving sometime in the afternoon πŸ™‚

 

Questions for you:

What are you currently obsessed with?

Are you trying to get yourself back to previous running/biking/swimming/whatever shape? How is it going?

 

 

6 Responses to “Chia Obsession”

  1. spinach&spice August 26, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I need to get some chia seeds! I’ve been meaning to for, oh, about a year now. Currently obsessed with seafood and traveling πŸ™‚

    • eyegirleats August 31, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      you should totally get some!! they’re so fun to eat πŸ™‚

  2. Casey August 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    I’m totally obsessed with camping right now. it’s weird, but I want to do it every weekend! It’s just the best in the fall–with hot dogs, s’mores, and mini-bottles of wine of course. πŸ™‚

    • eyegirleats August 26, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      yessss I love camping too πŸ™‚ camp food is the best!!

  3. aaron May 20, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Hi there I was wondering if you still eat chia daily?

    • eyegirleats May 21, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      Actually I haven’t in a while! I ran out, and then winter came and I stopped drinking smoothies (where I would normally use them). Thanks for reminding me to pick up some more!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

