“Yes, like Shia Labeouf”

31 Aug

My walk was hot, sunny, and sweaty-

glistening!

When I got to Starbucks and ordered my iced grande unsweetened green tea, the barista asked my name.

me- “It’s Shaya.”

-pause-

barista- “OH! like Shia Labeouf??”

me- “Yes, like Shia Labeouf.”

 

just call me Shia.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gotten this interaction, and I’m almost thankful– since Shia became a household name, people have a much easier time remembering how to pronounce mine. Growing up, ‘Shaya’ was always read by substitute teachers as “Shey-ya”, or “Shyla”, or “Shayna”, or “Sheyla”. (where did the extra consonants come from?!?!).

Anyway, if any of you were wondering, the pronunciation of my name IS like the actor Shia– (Shy-uh).

Have a great afternoon!!

 

 

Question for you:

How do people read your name? Does it get mispronounced often?

 

 

2 Responses to ““Yes, like Shia Labeouf””

  1. beautyinthebalance September 2, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    Haha I was totally wondering how to pronounce your name- now I know!!!

    NOONE has ever pronounced my name correctly on their first try. Seriously, noone. Even if I were to explain is phonetically, no dice.
    Marijke = Ma – rye (like the bread) – ka.

    What a headache!

    • eyegirleats September 2, 2011 at 9:45 am #

      it’s so beautiful!! all this time I’ve been pronouncing your name ‘Ma-ree-ka’ in my head, so thank you for giving our pronunciation too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

