Chocolate Chip Coconut Socca

1 Sep

…with sweet and tart Raspberry-Chia topping!

Welcome to my dinner last night. It was pretty epic.

Some background info: socca is basically a ‘pancake’ made with garbanzo bean flour and usually water. I first heard of socca when the Fitnessista went on a gluten-free detox many months ago, and embarrassingly that’s how long the flour has sat unused in my cupboard.

But with all the recent blog posts about different kinds of delicious-looking pancakes, I finally decided to get my hands dirty and try socca for the first time. It came out beautifully, so here’s how it went down.

Chocolate Chip Coconut Socca

makes 1 really big serving, two large cakes

  • 1/2 cup of garbanzo bean flour
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/8-1/4 cup of unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tbsp of chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp agave syrup, or sweetener of choice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Mix together flour, cocoa, protein powder, and salt. Then add water, vanilla, and agave. Mix thoroughly to get out the clumps. Toss in the coconut and chocolate chips at the end and give it a good stir.

smells weird before cooking... does not taste like this!

Pour batter onto a hot, nonstick skillet. I sprayed with vegetable oil myself, but you can cook in coconut oil if you have some! Cook about two minutes per side (watch for burning!). Voila!

To make it extra delicious (and add a serving of fruit!), I made…

Raspberry-Chia Topping

makes 1 serving

  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds

Simply pour raspberries into a small bowl (I used a mug) and drizzle honey over them. Microwave for 45 seconds – 1 minute. Mix in chia seeds and wait about a minute for them to absorb the liquid and thicken up the sauce. Serve immediately!

This is all that was left after feasting-

demolished.

These were so filling I couldn’t finish both cakes. Lots of protein, gluten-free, and pretty darn healthy! Not a bad dinner, or breakfast… or lunch haha. Have you tried socca? What’s your fave recipe for it?

This morning I’m been running a little late to lab, so I put on this-

and I’m eating this–

served on a paper bowl, cuz I'm class like that 🙂

…and I’ve run out of iced coffee so I’ll have to do without 😦 Making more is on the list for tonight!

 

Have a nice day everyone!!

 

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Coconut Socca”

  1. spinach&spice September 1, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    chocolate+coconut is a match made in heaven! great creation 🙂

    • eyegirleats September 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks lady! My taste buds agree 🙂

Leave a Reply

