Labored Day

5 Sep

Whew! Today has been a looong and tiring, but also really fun-filled πŸ™‚

It started a little late with a small Persian chicken-egg-salad sandwich on some Persian flatbread:

My mom made the salad for us over the weekend- includes chicken, eggs, peas, carrots, mayo, and spices that I’m not really sure of. It’s delicious πŸ™‚

After chilling out with this little weirdo dog for a couple hours, we got ready to go on a little hike we’d planned.

 

 

Tesla photo-bomb

We made a long detour to Whole Foods because I was craving a baked good of some kind and wanted something out of their case.

I ended up with a vegan blueberry muffin with a super-clean ingredients list… that fell into a pile of crumbs upon biting. Sad face.

only ate a little less than half. Tasted good, texture was way dry.

Couldn’t stop at WF without ordering a fresh juice (and waiting in line for twenty minutes for them to make it!)–

This time it had carrot, apple, beet, ginger, kale, cucumber and lemon, topped with bee pollen (!). It was advertised ‘for energy’, so I went with it (see the crumbles on top?). The taste was sweet like honey but the texture was super-chalky– couldn’t finish the juice because of it!

 

Finally we made it out to the trail to hike– we went to Oak Canyon Nature Center in Anaheim, and it was beautiful and peaceful, though WAY WAY too hot. I ended up just in my sports bra by the end of the hike.

 

weird algae-pool

 

little lizard friend! these were EVERYWHERE!

 

We got our sweaty selves home and I immediately packed up my little puppy-charge to take back to her owner. I’ll miss that little sausage 😦

After I dropped her off, I made a trip to the local Trader Joe’s for groceries– I was fighting my cart through the aisles the whole time! Guess lots of people were stocking up for the week.

When I got home, I heated up a big bowl of my mom’s Persian barley soup– super thick and creamy and savory. I have no idea what the recipe is like but I do know I do not have the patience to make it! (good Persian food takes hours to make properly!)

Along with a glass of orange-flavored sparkling water with lemon slices!

I’m totally exhausted now from the day (I think it may also be the lack of coffee), so I’ll probably just chill here with the Hubs and snack a little more throughout the evening. Hope your day has been action-packed and enjoyable!

Question for you:

Did you have the day off today? What did you do?

4 Responses to “Labored Day”

  1. spinach&spice September 6, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    That flatbread looks so gooood. I wish my mom cooked 😦 haha
    If your mom will give up the recipe, i’d love to have it!

    • eyegirleats September 6, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      Haha she the only thing she didn’t make was the flatbread!! That we need to buy at Persian stores because traditionally it’s baked in a stone oven– not easily re-createable at home. If you’re interested, it’s called Sangak and it’s like a whole-wheat sourdough flatbread, and I’ll bet there are less traditional recipes online πŸ™‚

  2. beautyinthebalance September 6, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    That sounds like the perfect holiday! I’m glad you had fun!

    I bet you’ll miss little Tesla? I’m actually super scared of dogs but she looks sweet and so tiny!

    I didn’t have the day off yesterday as our last UK Bank Holiday for the year was the weekend before. I love 3-day weekends; we should get one every month (at least)!

    • eyegirleats September 6, 2011 at 6:36 am #

      Thanks girl! I totally miss that cuddly little sausage πŸ™‚ She’s definitely sweet and very low-maintenance as far as dogs go, but having her for the weekend reminded me that I’m not really ready to have my own little pup. Sucks to have to wake-up, walk it, wait for it to go to the bathroom, feed it, etc at least 2-3 times a day! I’m a girl on the go and until I’m settled I don’t think I’ll be ready for the responsibility.

      Funny how a lot of our bank holidays are on similar weekends though! Doesn’t the UK celebrate a Memorial Day at the end of May as well?

Leave a Reply

