Pumpkin Spice Fix

8 Sep

 

Hi everybody! Hope you’re having a great day where you are!

 

Last night I ended up having a very strange combination of foods for dinner.

I started with this new-to-me Trader Joe’s frozen Thai soup-

It smelled so good when it came out of the microwave, like lemongrass and coconut milk, but I’ll spare you the picture because it was pretty ugly.

However, I would only give this dinner a 6/10 rating– it’s only that high for taste, but the portion was not very filling and I had to spend a lot of time picking around the lemongrass and bay leaves and hot peppers.

^^ all of that was inedible and really difficult to separate out!

 

Since the soup never really filled me up, I went for dinner #2 an hour or so later.

I started with one of these cantaloupe halves, and then decided to dress it up a little– ala Meghann at Meals and Miles.

I didn't take a bite out of the edge haha, there was a 'bad' chunk that I cut out!

Usually her combinations are a little too out-there for me (I’m not THAT much of a fan of savory/sweet combos), but I decided to go with it on this one. I ended up piling some 0% Fage plain greek yogurt in the center of the cantaloupe, then topped with some honey, cinnamon, and raw oats.

It tasted delicious, but the texture was overall a bit too uniform and there was something about the aftertaste that didn’t quite do it for me. I would recommend trying it anyway just to see if it’s up your alley, but I would say to use a crunchy granola on top instead of oatmeal.

 

Handfuls of crack popcorn and some chocolate chips and pistachios were also consumed over the course of the evening 🙂

 

This morning I had every intention of getting my butt out of bed early to run, but unfortunately it just didn’t happen. I’m thinking I may try to hit up the tiny school gym for the treadmill later this evening, or possibly do another at-home workout with the jump rope again. We’ll see!

Instead, I slept in a little too late, showered but didn’t fix my hair, put on my ugly glasses instead of my contacts, threw on this little (not-so-cute) ensemble:

not my best, I know

-and rushed out the door, taking these to consume on the way to lab:

 

When I got home, I was hangry and ready for a real breakfast– and got out the ingredients that were going to help me satisfy my craving:

oh ya.

I’ve been complaining recently about how I really want in on the whole pumpkin spiced latte trend, now that it just came back into season at Starbucks and all the blogosphere has already consumed at least one since the beginning of the week.

Being insanely jealous and yet unable to bring myself to have the HOT version that I love so much due to the weather, I decided to have the next best thing– a Pumpkin Spice Smoothie:

Here’s what goes in the blender:

  • 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon of pumpkin spice (to your taste!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • squeeze of honey (optional, I used it for a little extra sweetness)
  • 1 cup almond milk

 

The finished product:

 

topped with twigs and a sprinkle of cinnamon

The texture was amazing- an almost whipped, airy, creaminess- and it tasted soooo good. I’m very happy to have finally gotten my pumpkin fix, in a form that’s refreshing even in the heat 🙂

 

 

Anyway, I’m off to class now– have a great day everyone!

 

Questions for you:

What are you craving right now? Have you had pumpkin spice this season yet?

 

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Spice Fix”

  1. beautyinthebalance September 9, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    I love the colour of your dress- it’s so bright and summery!!!

    Your melon bowl is a great idea- I’ve seen it on Meals and Miles too!

    You can’t get pumpkin spice in the UK 😦 It really isn’t a big deal here and I have no idea why not! I had a pumpkin spice latte last October while I was visiting friends in San Jose and OHMYGOSH deliciousness!!!!

    • eyegirleats September 9, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Thanks girl!! And you should try it, although like I said, the melon + yogurt leaves kind of a funky aftertaste.

      That’s so weird that they don’t offer it there!! Do you guys have pumpkin pie at least during October/November? Maybe the whole pumpkin thing is an American craze…

      • beautyinthebalance September 13, 2011 at 1:08 am #

        No pumpkin pie at all- seriously it’s such an American thing!

      • eyegirleats September 13, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

        haha so weird!! have you ever eaten pumpkin pie? slash been to the US?

Leave a Reply

