Baked Ravioli with Eggplant and Broccoli

13 Sep

 

Hi lovelies! Hope you’re having a nice day today!

I’m busy with classes and a TON of studying for my test tomorrow– in fact I’m likely going to be locked down for the rest of my day.

 

For ‘breakfast’ today, I went with the usual iced coffee and had a chocolate chip brownie bar (clean ingredient list, I promise!)

And then left for my first class looking like this:

Meh, had better days πŸ™‚

 

Some of yesterday’s eats:

not-yo nachos! har har. organic corn chips, refried black beans, goat gouda, salsa, green peppers, and love.

 

 

Anyway, I’m sitting here blogging and printing out about a million pages of notes to study from later, so as that’s going I’ll write up a little ‘recipe’ on my dinner the other night– it was a good one!

 

 

Baked Ravioli with Eggplant and Broccoli

serves 2-4, depending on hunger level!

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of fresh, uncooked ravioli (your favorite flavor, I used goat cheese and sun dried tomato)
  • 1 whole eggplant
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 16oz jar of marinara sauce, your choice
  • 1 cup of ricotta cheese, I used 0% fat but your choice
  • seasonings: salt, pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil

 

Start by preheating oven to 400 degrees, and then cut eggplant in slices lengthwise. Use this preheat time to also cut up broccoli into small florets, feeling free to also use most of the stem.

Place eggplant on sprayed cookie sheet, then spray with olive oil and season (salt + pepper + garlic). Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes. (I didn’t do this, but I would next time because my broccoli didn’t end up cooked enough: spray down another cookie sheet and arrange broccoli- spray and season and place on another rack in oven.)

Set water to boil in a large pot now- and when it comes to a rolling boil (and your 15 minutes are almost up/ eggplant+broccoli is nicely roasted), toss in a little olive oil and the package of ravioli. Allow it to cook for about 75% of the package cooking time (it’s gonna go back in the oven!). Take eggplant + broccoli out of the oven.

Meanwhile, open up your jar of marinara and pour some into the bottom of a casserole dish. When the ravioli is done, drain and layer it on top of the marinara (we only had a layer 1 ravioli thick on the bottom).

I didn't roast my broccoli-- big mistake because they came out way under-done. roast yours!

Now, dollop your ricotta cheese evenly over the ravioli.

Then add a layer of your broccoli (you should get all of it on there). Top with more sauce.

The next layer is your roasted eggplant– layer it so that it completely covers the dish. Then pour remaining sauce over the top so that the whole thing is covered.

 

Bake for another 15-20 minutes and then remove and serve.

Darth Vader spatula not included (hi nerdy Hubs!!)

 

Hope some of you give it a try, it’s a pretty simple recipe but it does require more clean-up and more dirtied dishes than I usually like. Thankfully, when I cook the Hubs will clean after, so it worked out πŸ™‚

 

I’m off to another class + MORE STUDYING!!! Hope you have a lovely day!

 

 

Question for you:

What new recipe have you been loving?

6 Responses to “Baked Ravioli with Eggplant and Broccoli”

  1. beautyinthebalance September 14, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Thanks for posting that recipe- it looks really really good!
    Adding that to my list of ‘must-make-soon’!

    • eyegirleats September 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      welcome– if you do let me know if you liked it!

  2. Alicia September 14, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    I’m dying to try this recipe soon!!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!!

    New to us favorite recipe is definitely Naan pizza!! πŸ˜€ Surprisingly hubby loved it and has requested it a lot & we’ve never been a “make your own pizza” kind of people but this one totally works!

    • eyegirleats September 14, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Ooh, do you have the recipe up for the naan pizza on your blog? sounds awesome!

  3. Alicia September 14, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Not yet, but I’ll post it soon!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

