(net)Work It!

14 Sep

Hi everyone! Hope your day’s been going well so far!

My test this morning was more difficult than the one I had on Monday (I only missed one question on that exam!)– at least in terms of how the problems were worded. I had to re-read and re-work each question like 3 or 4 times on some of them, and ended up NOT actually being the first one to finish today haha.

I do however think it went pretty well, especially after corroborating on answers with classmates when we were done.

Anyhoo, I ACTUALLY spent time on hair and makeup and wardrobe today– sometimes inspiration just hits!

I curled my hair with my straightening iron this morning! I have to confess that I stayed up later than I wanted to last night watching tutorials for it on youtube– all that REM sleep cementing my studying also helped me to process the whole technique haha! I woke up and got to curling and it was easy and turned out awesome 🙂

The reason I fixed myself up today was two-fold:

First, I HAD to fix my hair because tonight I’m going to a meeting tonight where I’m going to network with a lot of local optometrists– they have a speaker coming, plus a free sit-down dinner and cocktail hour. It’s just me and three other students going to represent our school, so I need to dust off my business cards, make myself look professional (and not like I’m perpetually 17yrs old), and get to shmoozing!

Secondly, I have a problem where if I fix up one thing (say, my hair), then I feel like I should do my makeup to match, and then I should have a nicer outfit– it snow-balls. It’s a weird sort of all-or-nothing for me. The majority of the time though I just say ‘screw it’ to all of that and look totally sloppy haha.

 

 

My eats have been kind of all over the place– last night was a weird day where I sort of had two lunch/breakfasts (big smoothie an hour after a SSB/banana/chia wrap)–

…and so dinner was just snacks:

–plus an unpictured apple and bag of popcorn.

 

This morning I fueled up for my test with the usual:

gotta perk up those neurons!

–plus an unpictured Lara bar 🙂

 

 

I’m going to take a little nap here I think before I leave for the day. Hope you all have a great afternoon!!

 

Question for you:

Have you tried curling your hair with a straight iron?

4 Responses to “(net)Work It!”

  1. lapiattini September 14, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    LOVE the hair- you look super cute. I’ve tried this but to no avail. I watched the videos and just could not do it- I’m not good with hair!!

    • eyegirleats September 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      Thanks babe! Ya I’ll have to give credit to the REM sleep for sure, because I tried once before and it didn’t work so well. Hint- after watching, try the technique a few times with the COLD iron, and when you’re comfortable turn it on and try it for real!

  2. Fit Chick Britt September 14, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I can never get my hair to curl with the iron. Yours looks really cute. What drink do you usually get a starbucks?

    • eyegirleats September 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Thanks lady! It took a couple of long youtube video tutorials for me to get the technique down, that’s for sure. At starbucks I tend to get unsweetened iced coffee w/ some soy milk. or plain soy lattes, or iced tea 🙂 I used to get all fancy with flavors but now I’m preferring the simpler flavor. I will, however, splurge on a pumpkin spic latte once it’s cold enough for me to enjoy one hot 🙂

Leave a Reply

